## **HOMEMAKER**

## Sharon Haeussler 734-395-1567 - Superintendent Download <u>Homemaker Application</u> Form for entry

## **Section 2 – Homemaker**

Exhibitor tags available in advance by calling Elaine Masters at 734-845-7710

To be eligible for consideration, the contestant must comply with the following:

- 1. Please pre-register your intent to enter the homemaker contest by August 18th. Send or email your entry form to Sharon Haeussler 6600 Steinbach Rd, Manchester, MI 48158 or <a href="mailto:sharonhaeussler@gmail.com">sharonhaeussler@gmail.com</a>. Later registrations will be accepted, however registrations received by August 18th will receive an extra 25 points added to their accumulated points. No need to send a listing of the entries with your entry form.
- 2. The exhibitor must be 19 years or older as of 1/1 this year.
- 3. The exhibitor must be a resident of Washtenaw County who has not won other homemaker contests in 2023.
- 4. Anyone competing for homemaker must turn in a copy of exhibits entered, please list each section on a separate page. Pages will be supplied to you when your application is received. Turn copies into Sharon Haeussler in the kitting department by noon on Tuesday of fair week. Your exhibits must be entered into their exhibit areas by 11:00 a.m. Tuesday.
- 5. All exhibits must be made or grown by the exhibitor since the last fair and comply with the rules for exhibiting.
- 6. The winner is not eligible for consideration for 3 years following.
- 7. The contestant must enter at least, but not limited to, four of the following departments and a maximum of 10 items in each section:

Dept 40-Sewing	Dept 40-Needlework	Dept 41-Canning	Dept 44-Photography
Dept 40-Quilting	Dept 40-Crocheting	Dept 42-Fine Arts	Dept 47-Floriculture
Dept 40-Knitting	Dept 41-Baked Goods	Dept 43-Folk Arts	

The winner is determined by the total points accumulated. Four points will be awarded for each blue ribbon, three for each red ribbon, two for each white ribbon, and two points for each best of show ribbon. 25 points will be awarded to the individual(s) that register by the August 18<sup>th</sup> date.

**IN CASE OF A TIE:** The winner will be determined by the highest number of blue ribbons received. If a tie still exists, years of involvement in the fair will be the deciding factor. All contestants will be honored at Ladies' Day on Friday at 1:00 p.m. The new Homemaker for 2023 will receive her awards during Ladies' Day.

## Junior Homemaker

To be eligible for consideration, the contestant must comply with the following:

- 1. Please pre-register your intent to enter the homemaker contest by August 18<sup>th</sup>. Send or email your entry form to Sharon Haeussler 6600 Steinbach Rd, Manchester, MI 48158 or <a href="mailto:sharonhaeussler@gmail.com">sharonhaeussler@gmail.com</a>. Later registrations will be accepted, however registrations received by August 18<sup>th</sup> will receive an extra 25 points added to their accumulated points. No need to send a listing of your entries with your entry form.
- 2. The exhibitor must be at least 7 years of age and not over 18 years of age by 1/1 this year.
- 3. The exhibitor must be a resident of Washtenaw County who has not won other community homemaker contests in 2023
- 4. Anyone competing for Junior Homemaker must turn in a copy of exhibits entered, please list each section on a separate page. Pages will be supplied to you when your application is received. Turn copies into Sharon Haeussler in the kitting department by noon on Tuesday of fair week. Your exhibits must be entered into their exhibit areas by 11:00 a.m. Tuesday.
- 5. All exhibits must be made or grown by the exhibitor since the last fair and comply with the rules for exhibiting.
- 6. The winner is not eligible for consideration for 3 years following.
- 7. The contestant must enter at least, but not limited to, four of the following departments and a maximum of 4 items in each section:

Dept 60-Sewing	Dept 60-Needlework	Dept 61-Canning	Dept 64-Photography
Dept 60-Quilting	Dept 60-Crocheting	Dept 62-Fine Arts	Dept 67-Floriculture
Dept 60-Knitting	Dept 61-Baked Goods	Dept 63-Folk Arts	_

The winner is determined by the total points accumulated. Four points will be awarded for each blue ribbon, three for each red ribbon, two for each white ribbon, and two points for each best of show ribbon. 25 points will be awarded to the individual(s) that register by the August 18<sup>th</sup> date.

**IN CASE OF A TIE:** The winner will be determined by the highest number of blue ribbons received. If a tie still exists years of involvement in the fair will be the deciding factor. All contestants will be honored at Ladies' Day on Friday at 1:00 p.m. The new Junior Homemaker for 2023 will receive her awards during Ladies' Day.

	PAST HOMEMA	AKER WINNERS	
Adult			
1976 Florence Sheehan	1990 Sharon Haeussler	2002 Kathe Suddedorf	2016 Louise St. Clair
1977 Florence Sheehan	1991 Denise Guenther	2003 Sandra Tighe	2017 Stephanie Clink
1978 Sandy Stemen	Blumenauer	2004 Beth Hammond Czuj	2018 Kristie Knowlton
1979 Cecelia Poiet	1992 Christina Milton	2005 Renee Weidmayer	2019 Linda Smith
1981 Wilma Trachet	1993 Marcia Ticknor	2006 Jean Robert	2020 No Fair
1982 Carol Cammet	1994 Dianne Udell	2007 Sandra Tighe	2021 Joyce Fraker
1983 Louise Klager St. Clair	1995 Gail Holleran	2008 Margaret Bradley	2022 Susie Simpson
1984 Patti Henes	1996 Sharon Haeussler	2009 Sue Schalk	-
1985 Wilma Trachet	1997 Marcia Ticknor	2010 Kristie Knowlton	
1986 Sharon Fritts	1998 Brook Courchaine	2012 Laura Schindel	
1987 Diane Hammond	1999 Vicki Hewitt	2013 Amanda Thomas	
1988 Elaine Masters	2000 Sue Weidmayer	2014 Kristie Knowlton	
1989 Betty Guenther	2001 Michelle McCalla	2015 Sharon Haussler	
<b>Youth</b>			
1993 Tabitha Ludos	1999 Kristine Kuhl	2007 Delia Philips	2015 Sydney Masters
1994 Jennifer Lynne	2000 Breanne Haeussler	2008 Rachel Weidmayer	2016 Lorellei Zegrean
Feldkamp	2001 Julie Thelen	2009 Kelly Schalk	2017 Hailey Malinczak
1995 Elissa Holleran	2003 Alexandra Greaves	2010 Maia Bradley	2018 Amanda Jedele
Weidmayer	2004 Sara Hammond Ford	2011 Annie Rothfuss	2019 Clare Horvath
1996 Stephanie Haeussler	2005 Beth Kuhl	2012 Annaliesa Schindel	2020 No Fair
1997 Beth Hammond Czuj	2006 Amy Jedele (tie)	2013 Emma Bradley	2021 Mariel Horvath
1998 Sara Hammond Ford	2006 Whitney VanHise (tie)	2014 Viviana Zegrean	2022 Annie Malick